Footer Menu

Traditional Chinese Medicine Herbs

Yin and Yang Organs

In Traditional Chinese Medicine, the body’s organs are classified into two groups: Yin and Yang organs.

The yin organs are responsible for the production and regulation of Qi in the body. Yin organs include the lungs, spleen, heart, liver, and kidneys. While managing Qi in the body is the primary function of the yin BW Organsorgans, each organ has its own specialized function. For example, the lungs are the source of what is called “Postnatal Qi”, which is the Qi that produces the life-force and vitality of an individual.

The yang organs are responsible for the disposal of waste from the body. They separate substances that need to be removed from important nutrients that can be digested by the body. This is why yang organs are composed of organs responsible for digestion, including the stomach, small intestine, large intestine, bladder, and gall bladder. Like the yin organs, each yang organ has its own specialized function.

Yin and Yang organs are usually studied and used for treatment by looking at their relationships with each other. Each Yin organ has a corresponding Yang organ that it works with during different processes of the body. For example, the stomach and the spleen work together to make important digestive processes happen.

Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes